Fourth emission

Sixth emission

Fifth emission

(printed by el Banco de México)

In order to simplify the expression of quantities in domestic currency, on January 1st, 1993, a new unit of the Mexican Monetary System was created. This unit is equivalent to 1,000 pesos of the previous unit. (Official Diary of June 22, 1992). The adjective "nuevos" (new) was used before the name "pesos" in the new unit for a transitory period, in order to differentiate it from the former monetary unit. The use of this adjective was suppressed on 1996. Banco de Mexico issued, starting from 1993, a new series of banknotes denominated in "nuevos pesos" (new pesos). These banknotes have the same design as the banknotes previously in circulation.

The banknotes lower than 10 New Pesos were replaced by coins.

Throughout all the emission, the letters "I" and "O" are not used in the series and subseries in order to avoid the confusion with the digits 1 and 0.

The Bank of Mexico classify this emission in the family B.

The banknotes representative of the monetary unit which was in force until December 31st, 1992, have been demonetized (Official Diary of December 23, 1993); however, one can suppose that these notes can be exchanged by their equivalent amount at the domestic currency exchange centers.

The banknotes of this fifth emission are in the process of being withdrawn. They still retain their liberating power, that is, they are worth what the bill indicates, but by resolution of the Bank of Mexico they are withdrawn from the monetary circulation through the banks. This means that they can continue to be used for commercial and exchange transactions, but when they reach the banks, they must separate them so that they are not released to the public again.

10 pesos


20 pesos


50 pesos


100 pesos